Wall Street Journal Wine Review

WSJwine Wine Club Review

Visit the wine club
Visit this wine club
Wine Club Overview & Details

All-Around Wine Club Rating:

This Wine Club is rated 3.5 stars
  • Satisfaction Guarantee:

    This Wine Club is rated 5 stars
  • Wine Quality:

    This Wine Club is rated 2 stars
  • Price of Wine:

    This Wine Club is rated 3 stars
  • Discount Opportunities:

    This Wine Club is rated 4 stars
  • Convenience:

    This Wine Club is rated 4 stars
  • Personalization:

    This Wine Club is rated 3 stars
  • Gift-worthiness:

    This Wine Club is rated 1 stars
  • Customer Service Record:

    This Wine Club is rated 2 stars
  • Curation Process:

    This Wine Club is rated 2 stars
  • Uniqueness of the Club:

    This Wine Club is rated 2 stars
  • Educational Materials:

    This Wine Club is rated 3 stars

Wine Choices

Red-only and White-only options   Red-only and White-only options   Red-only and White-only options  

Billing Choices

Ongoing

Shipment Choices

Quarterly

Ships to

AZ CA CO CT DC FL ID IL IN IA LA MA MI MN MO NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OR SC TX VA WA WV WI WY

This wine club is...

Summary

Great value on many different types of wines from around the world and a consumer-favorite wine club.

What We Like

They have one of the best line-ups of introductory offers for wine clubs we've seen.

Improvements

With such unprecedent buying power, we'd love to see better quality wines at these prices.

Limited Time Special Offer

Exclusive Introductory Offer: Save $170 on 15 World Class Wines! First shipment contains three bonus bottles + the normal 12 for just $69.99

Go Directly to the Wine Club
 
Wall Street Journal Wine

Things to know

Limited Time Special Offer
Exclusive Introductory Offer: Save $170 on 15 World Class Wines! First shipment contains three bonus bottles + the normal 12 for just $69.99

  • Shipping is extra
  • Exclusive Introductory Offer: Save $170 on 15 World Class Wines! First shipment contains three bonus bottles + the normal 12 for just $69.99. Future shipments are 12 bottles for $149.99+$19.99 shipping.

The WSJ Wine Club by WSJWines

WSJWine Exclusive Gold Medal Reds Introductory Offer Shipment
Shipment of wine in molded fiberboard
Shipment of wine with cardboard separators

WSJWine is run by a successful wine club provider in the UK that's been providing wines to a HUGE membership for many years. They source wines from around the world, and then share their great finds with their club members and their client's club members.

Something that really sets WSJWine's wine club apart from the some of the other clubs is their Introductory Offer program. They always discount your first shipment 50%, and they usually offer some additional value. It's fairly obvious that this is a way to entice you to sign up and try their wines, but nonetheless, this does add extra value to the money you spend with them.

Another thing that sets WSJWine apart from other wine clubs is their unprecedented buying power. You won't find any boutique, small-production, or even medium-production wines in these shipments. You will find many wines not offered by anyone else because WSJWine has bought up the entire production allotment. You will also find some wines that are available elsewhere, but not at these prices.

Recognizing that not everyone wants free wine glasses—because you probably already have some—WSJWine is now offering a choice of introductory offer. You can get:

Special Offer #1 - The Free Gift
Save $120 on 12 World-Class Wines worth $189.99 -- today JUST $69.99
Special Offer #2 - The Free Wine
Save $170 on 15 World-Class Wines worth $239.99 -- today JUST $69.99

EXCLUSIVE Special Offer #3 - A WineClubReviews.net Exclusive Deal - The Gold Medal Reds Case
We are the only source for this special introductory shipment of Gold Medal Red Wines from around the world, a premium selection of higher-end red wines than is normally available through WSJWine Discovery Wine Club. These wines truly are an exceptional value at just $4.67 per bottle.

Save $170 on 15 World-Class Wines worth $239.99 -- today JUST $69.99

Wines Included in the Exclusive Gold Medal Reds Introductory Case
All Descriptions Provided by WSJWine
Le Prieure Cotes du Rhone Villages 2010

Gold-Medal Côtes-du-Rhône Villages - Le Prieure Cotes du Rhone Villages 2010
Hailing from the 97-point 2010 vintage (Parker) and southern Rhône star Audrey Francon, this gold-medal-winner is packed with dark fruit and spice. A classic blend of Grenache and Syrah that's delicious with rich fare and is sure to impress guests. (1 bottle)

The Waxed Bat Reserve 2010 Gold-Medal Super Cuvée - The Waxed Bat Reserve 2010
Introducing the new super-cuvée of our best-selling Waxed Bat red — already sporting gold from a major international show (and a very nice price) ... (1 bottle)
Lionstone Selection Perez Cruz 'Single Vineyard' La Higuera 2010

Gold-Medal Chilean Cabernet - Lionstone Selection Perez Cruz "Single Vineyard" La Higuera 2010
...a Food & Wine “Winery Wonder of the World.” Decanter-praised Germán Lyon’s smooth, barrel-aged Cab is also a wonder – it took gold at the 2012 London Wine Awards. We can't wait for you to taste it. (1 bottle)

Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011 Gold-Medal California Cab - Nadia Winemaker's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Reserve release from California star Eric Hickey – who's "serious about quality" (RP) – and his 3,600-ft high Santa Barbara Highlands vineyard. Warm days, cool nights and a long growing season help make this San Francisco gold medalist extra complex. (1 bottle)
Barón de Barbón Oak-Aged Rioja 2010

'Excellent' Vintage, Gold-Medal Rioja - Barón de Barbón Oak-Aged Rioja 2010
Here's the new vintage of our best-selling Rioja, crafted by Javier Murúa in the highly rated 2010 vintage (one of only 13 since 1925). Juicy and ripe with delicate vanilla notes. Enjoy with good friends over a plate of cured meats and cheeses. (2 bottles)

Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003 Gold-Medal Gran Reserva Rarity - Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2003
Gran Reserva is the big daddy of Spanish reds, only made in exceptional vintages. This stunner comes from Bodegas Ruberte and the old Garnacha and Cab vines of Miguel and Susana Ruberte. Big on flavor, long on oak. (2 bottles)
Chateau Le Coin Bordeaux 2011

Gold-Medal Bordeaux Exclusive - Chateau Le Coin Bordeaux 2011
Don't miss this gold-medal follow-up to the acclaimed 2010. Ludovic Roussillon's small-estate gem goes from strength to strength each vintage — his sumptuous 2011 is particularly aromatic and packed with ripe flavors of plum, cassis and spice. (2 bottles)

Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011 Gold-Medal Southern Italian Red - Tenuta di Somaro Aglianico Primitivo 2011
When the masterful Mario Ercolino discovered a small parcel of gnarled, old-bush vines deep in Puglia's rolling countryside, he knew he’d found something special. One taste of this smooth, fruit-rich, gold-medal champion, and you’ll understand why. (2 bottles)
Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011

Gold Medal 'Super Tuscan' - Saracosa Rosso di Toscana 2011
Simona Barbanera's flagship cuvée has been hailed as “one of the all-time great Super Tuscan reds.” This exclusive (far more affordable) option’s made with the same Sangiovese/Cab/Merlot blend, and just won a gold medal in Berlin. (3 bottles)

Note: Subsequent shipments are the same as all of the other WSJ Discovery Club shipments.

100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Join the Mixed WSJ Wine Club
to Get Our Exclusive Gold Medal Reds Introductory Case

Go Directly to the Wine Club

After the introductory shipment, you’ll receive a case (12 bottles) of wine every quarter for $139.99 and $19.99 shipping until you cancel.

We’ve broken down the pricing below so it’s easier to understand:

Introductory Offer Subsequent QUARTERLY Shipments
# Bottles of Wine per shipment Offer #1 - Free Gift: 12 + Set of Four Luigi Bormioli Wine Glasses
Offer #2 - Free Wine: 15 bottles
Offer #3 - Gold Medal Reds: 15 bottles
12
Price Offer #1 - Free Gift: $69.99 ($5.83 per bottle)
Offer #2 - Free Wine: $69.99 ($4.67 per bottle)
Offer #3 - Gold Medal Reds: $69.99 ($4.67 per bottle)
$139.99 ($11.67 per bottle)
Shipping Price $19.99 $19.99
Total Price per Shipment Offer #1 - Free Gift: $89.98 ($7.50 per bottle)
Offer #2 - Free Wine: $89.98 ($6.00 per bottle)
Offer #3 - Gold Medal Reds: $89.98 ($6.00 per bottle)
$159.98 ($13.33 per bottle)

When it comes to wine clubs, we like quarterly case-clubs because you save on shipping costs per bottle and it's better for the environment to send out fewer shipments each year.

Something we noticed: the Mixed case appears to be 8 reds and 4 whites—we normally call this "Mostly Red." You can also choose Red-only and White-only if you want.

It might be because of the East Coast influence, but we've noticed that WSJWine's wine selections lean toward old-world, a.k.a. European, wines. It seems like the cases are usually 3/4 European and 1/4 the rest of the world.

The Wine Selection on 5/9/14


Current Mixed Case Selections

Mixed Case of Red and White Wine

Wine & Description (copied from WSJWine)

Free Gift, Deluxe Lever-Action Corkscrew

Offer #1 - Free Gift

Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004Kora Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2012

Offer #2 - Free Wine

Chateau Grand Ferrand Bordeaux Superieur 2009

Gold-Medal 2009 Bordeaux - Chateau Grand Ferrand Bordeaux Superieur 2009
From Bordeaux's landmark 2009, this smooth, oak-aged Merlot blend is drinking beautifully now (a hallmark of the vintage). It impressed judges at one of France's top shows, winning a coveted gold medal—and its rich flavors will impress your guests too.

1 bottle not in shipment
Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004

Acclaimed Gran Reserva Rarity - Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004
Gran Reserva is the big daddy of Spanish reds, only made in exceptional vintages. This medal-winning stunner comes from Bodegas Ruberte and their gnarled, old Garnacha and Cab vines. Big on dark fruit flavor, long on oak.

not in shipment 2 bottles
Kora Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2012

Top-Estate New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc - Kora Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2012
New Zealand makes some of the world’s most mouthwatering, lip-smacking Sauvignon Blanc. The best come from Marlborough, like this fresh, guava-packed beauty from Lifetime Achievement Award winner Phil Rose. A lovely apéritif or partner for seafood.

1 bottle 2 bottles
Illustrious Carneros Merlot 2012

A-List Carneros Merlot - Illustrious Carneros Merlot 2012
Don’t miss out on this lip-smacking Merlot—it’s a past 'Best-of-Class' exclusive from one of the top names in Napa’s Carneros district (we can’t tell you who, as their regulars pay far more than you will). Barrel-aged, smooth and NOT to be missed.

1 bottle 1 bottle
Prince de Courthezon Cotes du Rhone Blanc 2013

Mouthwatering White Rhône Exclusive - Prince de Courthezon Cotes du Rhone Blanc 2013
This fresh white hails from France's famed Rhône Valley and our old friend Thierry Ferlay. "2013 was an excellent vintage for Rhône whites," he says — as this peach-filled beauty (which he crafted from three star local grapes) amply demonstrates.

1 bottle 1 bottle
Collezione di Paolo Chianti DOCG 2012

Tuscan Maestro's Prized Chianti - Collezione di Paolo Chianti DOCG 2012
“Paolo Masi makes wines with irreproachably clean fruit and abundant personality,” says Gambero Rosso, Italy’s top wine guide. Don't miss out on his latest release, filled with all the cherry-chocolate charm Paolo's many fans have come to expect.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Ascencion Malbec 2012

Award-Winning NEW Vintage of a Huge Favorite - Ascencion Malbec 2012
NEW vintage of this hugely popular Malbec, from Argentina's oldest estate and some of the world’s highest vineyards. “Attractive blackberry and plum fruits, with a supple palate and fine tannins,” raved IWC judges last vintage. Expect the same here.

2 bottles 2 bottles
De Loach Private Collection Central Coast Chardonnay 2012

'Winery of the Year' Chardonnay - De Loach Private Collection Central Coast Chardonnay 2012
A top-vintage release from DeLoach Vineyards, a 12-time Winery of the Year and “one of California’s best producers of Chardonnay” (Wine Spectator). We can't wait for you to taste this refreshingly crisp, citrusy gem.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Ca Vescovo Pinot Grigio 2012

Top Estate Italian Pinot Grigio - Ca Vescovo Pinot Grigio 2012
An exciting release from the renowned Zonin family’s premium estate vineyards. Brimming with ripe lemon and pear with classic almond notes, this is delicious on its own, or with light fare.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Mixed Case of Red and White Wine100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Join the Mixed WSJ Wine Club
Free Gift Offer OR Free Wine Offer OR Gold Medal Reds Offer

Current Red Only Wine Club Selections

Case of Red Wine Only

Wine & Description (copied from WSJWine)

Free Gift, Deluxe Lever-Action Corkscrew

Offer #1 - Free Gift

The Prospector 2012The Prospector 2012Chateau Grand Ferrand Bordeaux Superieur 2009

Offer #2 - Free Wine

The Prospector 2012

Gold-Medal California Red - The Prospector 2012
From "one of the best vintages California has seen for decades," (JancisRobinson.com) and Parker-rated winemaker Reed Renaudin comes this excellent 'prospect' — if you like super-rich, award-winning reds, that is.

not in shipment 2 bottles
Chateau Grand Ferrand Bordeaux Superieur 2009

Gold-Medal 2009 Bordeaux - Chateau Grand Ferrand Bordeaux Superieur 2009
From Bordeaux's landmark 2009, this smooth, oak-aged Merlot blend is drinking beautifully now (a hallmark of the vintage). It impressed judges at one of France's top shows, winning a coveted gold medal—and its rich flavors will impress your guests too.

1 bottle 2 bottles
Giesta Dão 2011

Gold-Medal Portuguese Find - Giesta Dão 2011
Portugal's signature grape, Touriga Nacional, meets two other native stars (strawberry-fruited Tinta Roriz and spicy Jaen) in this hugely acclaimed beauty. From one of the Dao's top estates, this is the kind of crowd-pleasing red you've got to try.

1 bottle 1 bottle
Laetitia Vineyard Select Pinot Noir 2012

'Serious' Quality Pinot Noir - Laetitia Vineyard Select Pinot Noir 2012
If great Pinot starts in the vineyard, you’re in excellent hands with this special selection, from California’s blockbuster 2012 vintage and plots planted by a top Champagne house. Aged in the finest French oak and full of silky red fruit.

1 bottle 1 bottle
Illustrious Carneros Merlot 2012

A-List Carneros Merlot - Illustrious Carneros Merlot 2012
Don’t miss out on this lip-smacking Merlot—it’s a past 'Best-of-Class' exclusive from one of the top names in Napa’s Carneros district (we can’t tell you who, as their regulars pay far more than you will). Barrel-aged, smooth and NOT to be missed.

1 bottle 1 bottle
Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004

Acclaimed Gran Reserva Rarity - Ermita de San Lorenzo Gran Reserva 2004
Gran Reserva is the big daddy of Spanish reds, only made in exceptional vintages. This medal-winning stunner comes from Bodegas Ruberte and their gnarled, old Garnacha and Cab vines. Big on dark fruit flavor, long on oak.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Collezione di Paolo Chianti DOCG 2012

Tuscan Maestro's Prized Chianti - Collezione di Paolo Chianti DOCG 2012
“Paolo Masi makes wines with irreproachably clean fruit and abundant personality,” says Gambero Rosso, Italy’s top wine guide. Don't miss out on his latest release, filled with all the cherry-chocolate charm Paolo's many fans have come to expect.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Ascencion Malbec 2012

Award-Winning NEW Vintage of a Huge Favorite - Ascencion Malbec 2012
NEW vintage of this hugely popular Malbec, from Argentina's oldest estate and some of the world’s highest vineyards. “Attractive blackberry and plum fruits, with a supple palate and fine tannins,” raved IWC judges last vintage. Expect the same here.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Domaine Campagne Cabernet Sauvignon 2011

Succulent Southern French Cabernet - Domaine Campagne Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Exciting new discovery from France’s sunny south. This succulent Cab is crafted by local star Philippe Cros at his hilltop estate in the Languedoc (a mecca for high-quality, top-value reds). Expect silky blue and black fruit flavors edged with herbs.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Red Wine Case Club100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Join the WSJ Red Wine Club
Free Gift Offer OR Free Wine Offer OR Gold Medal Reds Offer

Current White Only Wine Club Selections

Case of White Wine Only

Wine & Description (copied from WSJ)

Free Gift, Deluxe Lever-Action Corkscrew

Offer #1 - Free Gift

Prince de Courthezon Cotes du Rhone Blanc 2013Charles Smith The Honorable Riesling 2012Sendero des Santos Albarino 2011

Offer #2 - Free Wine

Prince de Courthezon Cotes du Rhone Blanc 2013

Mouthwatering White Rhône Exclusive - Prince de Courthezon Cotes du Rhone Blanc 2013
This fresh white hails from France's famed Rhône Valley and our old friend Thierry Ferlay. "2013 was an excellent vintage for Rhône whites," he says — as this peach-filled beauty (which he crafted from three star local grapes) amply demonstrates.

not in shipment 2 bottles
Charles Smith The Honorable Riesling 2012

Racy Washington Riesling - Charles Smith The Honorable Riesling 2012
Washington icon Charles Smith crafted this Yakima Valley Riesling just for us with grapes grown in the Olsen Brothers and Roza Hills vineyards. Mouthwatering and packed with peachy flavor (and just a kiss of sweetness), we think it's his best yet.

not in shipment 1 bottle
Lionstone Selection Milbrandt Vineyards Traditions Riesling 2010

Gold-Medal Washington Riesling - Lionstone Selection Milbrandt Vineyards Traditions Riesling 2010
This "immensely appealing" 90 Wine Spectator-Pointed gem from the Milbrandt family also has a gold medal and 'Best Buy' accolades to its name. One taste is all it takes to become smitten.

1 bottle not in shipment
Sendero des Santos Albarino 2011

Premium Albariño Find - Sendero des Santos Albarino 2011
"Honestly, it's the scoop of the year," says our Spanish expert Beth Willard of this tropical-peachy Albariño from premium Rías Baixas. This exclusive find is a tremendous value from one of the region's A-list cellars. Hurry for your taste.

1 bottle 2 bottles
Kora Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2012

Top-Estate New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc - Kora Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2012
New Zealand makes some of the world’s most mouthwatering, lip-smacking Sauvignon Blanc. The best come from Marlborough, like this fresh, guava-packed beauty from Lifetime Achievement Award winner Phil Rose. A lovely apéritif or partner for seafood.

1 bottle 1 bottle
Villa Broglia Gavi di Gavi 2012

Top-Estate Gavi di Gavi - Villa Broglia Gavi di Gavi 2012
Piedmont's No. 1 white, as told by master winemaker, Donato Lanati. Best-in-Class titles, international medals ... this top-class white is filled with pear and lemon curd aromas with green apple notes on the palate. A must try.

1 bottle 1 bottle
De Loach Private Collection Central Coast Chardonnay 2012

'Winery of the Year' Chardonnay - De Loach Private Collection Central Coast Chardonnay 2012
A top-vintage release from DeLoach Vineyards, a 12-time Winery of the Year and “one of California’s best producers of Chardonnay” (Wine Spectator). We can't wait for you to taste this refreshingly crisp, citrusy gem.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Ca Vescovo Pinot Grigio 2012

Top Estate Italian Pinot Grigio - Ca Vescovo Pinot Grigio 2012
An exciting release from the renowned Zonin family’s premium estate vineyards. Brimming with ripe lemon and pear with classic almond notes, this is delicious on its own, or with light fare.

2 bottles 2 bottles
Gooseberry Bush 2012

Vibrant South African White - Gooseberry Bush 2012
There’s no better introduction to the lush vineyards of South Africa’s Western Cape than a cool glass of Gooseberry Bush from the five-star Bon Courage estate. A refreshing blend of crisp Colombard and citrus-charged Sauvignon, it's a great apéritif.

2 bottles 2 bottles
HJ Fabre Chardonnay-Torrontes 2012

Unique Argentinean White - HJ Fabre Chardonnay-Torrontes 2012
Torrontes is Argentina's refreshing white star – just wait until you try master winemaker Hervé Fabre's version. He marries this famous grape with creamy Chardonnay, so you can expect super fresh, crisp tropical flavors with a delicate vanilla kiss.

2 bottles 2 bottles
White Wine Case Club100% Satisfaction Guarantee

Join the WSJ White Wine Club
Free Gift Offer OR Free Wine Offer OR Gold Medal Reds Offer

Last Updated: 05/09/2014

Reviewed by Wine Club Experts
We have not yet reviewed any Wall Street Journal Wine WSJwine Wine Club shipments.

Hey there! You are welcome to add your own feedback.
Just so you know, we'll review it before it gets posted to the website. You must be logged in to leave a comment.
Please log in or create an account

Comment from Bruce Mackey at 2014-04-05 06:09:59
Customer service is so incompetent as to be non-existent.

I received the "introductory offer" as a Christmas gift. I followed up after the first of the year and placed the order. I was told it would arrive within 12 days. It didn't. Called. Same story. Finally a guy called and said he would be there "Monday" so I stayed home to sign. He never arrived. Two days later, I called and cancelled, asking for the gift money instead. I was told a check would arrive in 7-10 days. It didn't. Nor did it arrive the next THREE more times I called. The last time, a manager had called, and asked for two weeks to get the check to arrive. It didn't. Now she hasn't returned my calls in 2 days. BUT, they sent an email to say they shipped the wine. I didn't ask for that! I don't want the wine. I've got such a bad taste in my mouth, their wine won't taste good so matter what! Reading these reviews, apparently I'm not the only one to have problems with these people. It's hard to understand why the Wall Street Journal would lend their good name to them. They must be getting lots of money from Direct Wines International, the outfit that actually runs the club.
 
Comment from Frank Huband at 2014-01-28 16:38:13
My experience with WSJWine has been horrific.

In June of 2013 I placed an order for 12 bottles of a 2003 wine for delivery in September, and paid a $40 “holding fee” to assure that I would receive the order. In late November, I noticed I had not received the order, and talked to a WSJWine customer Services representative. She said she would check, and the next day sent me a message that said, in part:

“This is just a quick note to inform you that the presale Chateau Ramage La Batisse case will be ready to ship in early December. Your case will contain twelve bottles. Once the case has been prepared we will contact you for the balance of $199.88 plus $19.99 shipping and applicable tax.”

During late December and early January, I called several times to ask where the wine I had ordered was, and I was assured that it would be delivered soon.

In January, I received 6 bottles of a 2011 wine I had not ordered. When I called, I was told they had no idea why I had gotten it, but would send me a mailing label to return it.

Checking my credit card charges, I discovered that they had charged me almost $140 for the wine I had not ordered, and $480.93, more than twice the amount authorized, for the wine I had not been sent. And I have not gotten a return label for the wine I did not order.

Many more calls followed. Each time I called, I had to start the discussion from scratch. No references to my previous calls and concerns were kept in my customer file.

They now say they have no 12 case bottles of my wine, only 6 bottle cases. When I suggest that they could just send 2 6 bottle cases, they said that they would not do that. I told them to cancel the order.

I still have not gotten the fedex label, and both charges are still on my credit card.

So the message is, if things go wrong, even if it is totally their fault, you will not get either sympathy or compensation from WSJWine.

Buyer beware.

And I have called Amex, told them my story and asked them to reverse the charges.

Frank Huband
 
Comment from Sonja Novotny at 2012-01-16 20:03:56
I agree with the previous feedback regarding WSJwine.com. They did not quote an excessive shipping fee prior to my order and I was shocked at the actual price. When I called to point out this mistake not only did they refuse to credit my account but they seemed not to care at all! This resulted in my cancelling of the membership and asking them to not contact me again via phone, mail or email. He actually had the gall to ask me if I had proof that the shipping fee was not quoted. They took advantage of my trust and most certainly have lost it.
 
Response from WineClubReviews at 2012-01-16 21:23:12
To help us watch out for others, please tell us how much was your shipping fee and which state were you shipping to?
 
Comment from Samantha Addonizio at 2010-12-29 13:01:14
WSJwine.com is UNRELIABLE...gifts do NOT arrive and TERRIBLE customer service on top of that. Do NOT order from WSJwine.com. I ordered on December 8 for a gift for friends that have been very good to me and very generous to our children. I ordered 2 bottles of champagne for delivery by Christmas. I was so very happy to have found this way to send them some good cheer. I received an order summary from WSJwine.com with the following information:

Thank you for ordering from WSJwine. In accordance with California state law, Lionstone Sonoma, a licensed California retailer, will accept, process, and ship your order for WSJwine. Thank you for being a valued customer. If you have any questions regarding your order, simply contact customer service by phone at (877) 975- 9463 or via email at [email protected]

I also received an order number and a timestamp that the order summary was received on December 8, 2010 at 3:49:48pm. Since the information in my order summary indicated that my order will be processed by a CA merchant, there seemed nothing more to be done.

On December 29, 2010, I finally got in touch with my good friend. As we exchanged well wishes, I asked them how they enjoyed their champagne. There was an awkward silence. My friend then said, what do you mean? I was SO embarassed. I asked if she received the gift I sent and she had not. I apologized, hurried off the phone and told her I would call her right back.

I call the number in my Order Summary email. I spoke with Sherry. Sherry told me that my order was cancelled. There was no indication why. She could only have a supervisor call me back in approximately 24 hours. I asked if WJS would re-place the order with a rush so delivery could be made by December 31, 2010 so my friends could enjoy for New Years at least. She said that they are not allowed by law to expdite alcohol orders. (I think that is flase since I have ordered items from other basket vendors that included beer or wine and there was an option to FedEx). She told me that nothiing more could be done. I asked to speak to a supervisor right away. After keeping me on hold for 10 minutes she came back on and told me that a supervisor could not speak with me now. I was so angry I told her I expected a call within 24 hours and I would pass along how WSJwine.com treated me.
 

Your special introductory offer:
SAVE $120 on 12 Top-Estate Wines

This special offer gives you 12 outstanding wines for only $5.84 a bottle. Enjoy double-gold-medal 2010 Bordeaux, gold-medal Argentine Malbec, fine Russian River Valley Pinot Noir and much more. Read all about each wine and SAVE $120 today. As an extra bonus, we'll also send you a FREE deluxe lever-action corkscrew set (worth $39.99). All part of your introduction to The WSJwine Discovery Club.

Why such a generous offer? We believe you'll be impressed and come back for more. If you don't, no problem. It's a risk we're prepared to take. By offering small-batch wines of real flair and value, with convenient home delivery, WSJwine is changing the way people buy wine. This opens a lot of doors. Winemakers give us their best wines. Customers love the quality and variety.

Just taste for yourself. Detailed notes tell the story of each wine and offer useful serving tips. And every bottle comes with our money-back guarantee. If you're not impressed, you don't pay.

With the Discovery Club you will receive a regular supply of outstanding values from some of the world's leading, small estates. You'll have new things to try every quarter, plus enough information to help you pick the right wine from the rack every time. It works out to just one good bottle a week.

Exclusive Discovery Club benefits

  • 12 expertly selected wines reserved for you every 3 months
  • A members–only 20% savings on all Discovery Club cases
  • Online preview of each case—change the mix, skip cases, alter delivery timing
  • No obligations—you're free to cancel anytime
  • Detailed tasting notes and serving advice with every wine
  • 100% money–back guarantee—if ever a wine fails to delight, you'll be refunded in full

WSJwine Discovery Club
Perfect for wine fans looking to expand their horizons and increase their knowledge —with outstanding wines priced for everyday enjoyment. Each Discovery Club dozen allows you to taste your way around the world for JUST $149.99 (always with a minimum 20% savings).

What is your return policy?
WSJwine is 100% committed to your satisfaction. In the unlikely event that you have broken bottles or experience delivery problems of any kind, please call within 60 days. We will always work to resolve any problems as quickly as possible

Last Updated: 3/26/2013

 

Wall Street Journal Wine

WSJwine Wine Club

 
© All wine club ratings & reviews shown on Wine Club Reviews are copyrighted.
We were featured on Forbes.com Beer Club Reviews

Perhaps a beer club is more your speed? Check out our beer clubs and gifts site, too!