Wine Reviews

These are my most recent wine reviews. I drank each of these wines and this is what I think about them. My opinions about each wine are my own.

Wine reviews by: Jessyca Frederick

My Latest Wine Reviews

California Pinot Noir Lot 179

2022 Ninety Plus Cellars California Pinot Noir Lot 179

The wine was not perfect, but at a quarter of the price of most boutique California Pinot Noir it delivered great fruit and was very smooth.

Easy-drinking, red berry fruit-forward Pinot Noir of exceptional value, if not much character. It lacked structure and finish.

Consumed: April 2024
Last updated: May 3, 2024

Patelin de Tablas Blanc

2021 Tablas Creek Vineyards Patelin de Tablas Blanc

I smelled white fruit and enjoyed an appley mid-palate (the Grenache Blanc), a hint of Meyer lemon, and a nice minerality supported by mild acidity.

This delightful blend of five different Rhone white grapes from six different wineries showcases the whole point of blending — to produce something better than the sum of its parts.

Consumed: April 2023
Last updated: May 3, 2024

Chardonnay, Sonoma County

2020 Long Street Winery Chardonnay, Sonoma County

A nice, solid Chardonnay. Well-balanced, structured but not oaky, round but not buttery, not too much alcohol, not too much acid.

I really liked this. Sometimes I like a good Chardonnay that isn’t too much of anything and which lets the fruit shine. This was that.

Consumed: May 2023
Last updated: May 3, 2024

Barbaresco Lot 181

2021 Ninety Plus Cellars Barbaresco Lot 181

At $28 I’m only a little disappointed. I expected more tannins and body from an Italian red wine, but was an experience worth having at that price.

The reason to keep trying new wines is because you never know what you may find that seemed intimidating. If you’re tired of Pinot Noir but like bright cherry red wines, give Barbaresco a try!

Consumed: April 2024
Last updated: May 2, 2024

Sancerre Lot 126

2023 Ninety Plus Cellars Sancerre Lot 126

Really nice, but kinda pricey. Not for Sancerre in general, just for what it is. But it’s sold out at the winery because Sancerre is having a moment.

Great typicity with a lemon, mineral, saline, flinty thing going on. This is part of their Reserve Series, but it felt overpriced, even at $33.

Consumed: April 2024
Last updated: May 2, 2024

Barbera d’Alba Lot 27

2022 Ninety Plus Cellars Barbera d’Alba Lot 27

This wine reminded me to not be so tied to my earlier impressions of regions and grapes. I really enjoyed this Italian red, which is something I don’t say too often.

Great value at $19. I enjoyed the rich aromatics, tart cherry, fine tannins, and a nice long finish, but it really needs food because it’s so bright.

Consumed: April 2024
Last updated: May 2, 2024

Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir

2017 Ken Brown Wines Sta. Rita Hills Pinot Noir

A beautiful example of what put Sta. Rita Hills on the map of world’s best Pinot Noir regions.

Another wine in the long list of "I like blends" where the "entry level" wine is among my favorites at a producer.

Consumed: May 2023
Last updated: December 17, 2023

Improv

2014 Ecluse Wines Improv

A great example both of the winemaking style from Écluse Wines and and the ageability of their wines (and red wines from Paso Robles).

Écluse wines hold up well to age — they’re super structured and intense when young, but transform gracefully (and slowly) over time.

Consumed: May 2023
Last updated: December 17, 2023

Château Laville Sauternes

2019 Château Laville Château Laville Sauternes

From the moment we opened this bottle containing orange-colored and even orange-smelling wine (not the same as the “orange wine” fad), I knew we were in for something different.

There was a creaminess and a complexity that floated around my mouth with this viscous wine. The orange/tangerine marmalade dream was accompanied by butterscotch and honey.

Consumed: March 2023
Last updated: August 3, 2023

20-Year Old Tawny Port (500mL)

NV Quinta de la Rosa 20-Year Old Tawny Port (500mL)

This wine has changed my mind about whether or not I want to explore Port wine.

For all of us in the tasting group, there was a strong taste of maple. It was not overly sweet, but definitely had a sweetness to it. I’d happily drink this again.

Consumed: March 2023
Last updated: August 3, 2023

Notice: I hold no formal wine credentials. I am a wine geek who has consumed 1000+ of bottles from 100+ different wine clubs and 1000s more bottles that didn’t come from those wine clubs. I do not accept payment for wine reviews, and I do not accept payments to influence my opinions. I happily accept free wine (and I buy wine).

Why read my wine reviews: Wine taste is subjective. What I like may not be what you like. I try to leave room for you to form your own opinions, so I don’t provide a score or a rating. I do point out wines that are an incredible value or truly not worth the money. I note flaws, wines that don’t have typicity (because this matters if you are buying wine without having tasted it yourself), when wines are out of balance, and when wines lack appropriate body.

I don’t like wasting money (or anything for that matter). I’m careful about where I spend my money and my mindset as a reviewer is to be careful about where you spend yours. I don’t believe a high price tag equals quality and I know for sure there are wines of very good quality that are also a great value.

Learn more about me or get in touch.