WSJwine Wine Club Review

A wine club from Wall Street Journal Wine

WINE CLUB OVERVIEW & DETAILS

All-Around Wine Club Rating: 3.7

This wine club is...

#4 Best 12-Bottle Wine Clubs List

Summary

This 12-bottle case of wine club really jumpstarted this type of affordable wine subscription in the US and features value-focused white and red wines from around the world. Their $12 international wine selections typically offer better value in white wine than red. Take advantage of their introductory offer of just $69.99 for a case, but be warned, you are signing up for recurring shipments at $149.99.

What We Like

We've received many shipments of wine from the WSJwine Wine Club over the years, but we continue to hold the club in relatively low esteem. It's perfect for a wine lover who wants an inexpensive selection of International wine delivered to their door every quarter. It's not a good fit for anyone who likes wine that sells above $15 at the grocery store.

Improvements

Because of the success of the WSJwine club, many other wine clubs are competing with 12-bottle case clubs priced around $170 per quarter (including shipping costs). Some of them are offering much better quality wine for that price so we know they could, too.

Coupons & Promo Codes

For You Join today and get 12 bottles of wine PLUS two bonus bottles and two stemless crystal wine glasses for just $69.99. Until Jan 15. Click for This Deal.

Wine Choices

Red-only and White-only options   Red-only and White-only options   Red-only and White-only options  

Billing Choices

Ongoing

Shipment Choices

Quarterly

Wine club ships to

AZ CA CO CT FL IA ID IL IN LA MA MI MN MO NC ND NE NH NJ NM NV NY OH OR SC TN TX VA WA WI WV WY DC

Go Directly to the Wine Club

JOIN THE WINE CLUB

Visit this wine club

Wall Street Journal Wine Club (WSJwine) Review

by WineClubReviews.net

In this review: Special Offers · Wine Review · Membership Benefits · Who Should Join · Gift Review

WSJwine Introductory Offer Shipment in Cellar

We received this shipment of Exclusive Offer #2 in May of 2017.

About the WSJwine Brand

WSJwine was an early entry to the now-booming 12-bottle wine subscription market. By streamlining shipments to send 12 bottles every three months instead of 4 bottles eveyr month, WSJwine has reduced their overall shipping costs, and made getting wine deliveries at home easier.

The Wall Street Journal lent their name, in exchange for a share of the profits, to a huge wine club provider based in the UK — Direct Wines1. The goal was bring the popular wine club operated as The Sunday Times to the U.S. Direct Wines leverages their 750,000-strong2 subscriber base in the UK and their huge (but not disclosed) subscriber base in the US to get unbelievable deals on massive quantities of wine.

WSJwine Introductory Offers

Something that really stands out about WSJwine is their Introductory Offer program. Whether you find their offers on a web page like this one or receive a voucher in the mail, the offers are always the same: 12 bottles of wine plus a bonus gift for $69.99. While these aren't their regular prices, they're hoping you'll be lured by the $5 a bottle price and give them a try.

Special Offer - Bonus Wine & Crystal Wine Glasses

12-bottle Case of Wine + 2 Bonus Wines + 2 Stemless Crystal Wine Glasses — Save $185, No Voucher Required

Choose red wine, white wine, or a mix of red and white wine

WSJwine Introductory Offer - 14 wines & Two stemless crystal wine glases for $69.99

Click Here | Get the this deal

WSJwine Introductory Offer - 14 wines & Two stemless crystal wine glases for $69.99

Click Here | Get the this deal

WSJwine Introductory Offer - 14 wines & Two stemless crystal wine glases for $69.99

Click Here | Get the this deal

Important! This introductory offer is $69.99 for the first shipment + $19.99 shipping. This is an introductory offer and after the introductory shipment, you’ll receive a case of wine (12 bottles) every quarter for $149.99 + $19.99 shipping until you cancel. If you don't cancel before your next shipment is inbound, you either keep the next case or you are responsible for return shipping costs and a restocking fee.

WSJwine Wine Review

Our WSJwine Wine Ratings


Quality of Wine
Price of Wine
Wine Curation

One thing that sets WSJwine apart from other wine clubs is their unprecedented buying power. You won't find any boutique, small-production, or even medium-production wines in these shipments. You will find many wines not offered by anyone else because WSJwine has bought up the entire production allotment. You will also find some wines that are available elsewhere, but not at these prices.

It used to be the case that WSJwine couldn't be beat on price. These days there are several wine clubs that are competitive in the $15-17 per bottle range.

We've been drinking WSJwine on a regular basis for 9 years now. We've never been particularly impressed with the quality of their wine. For a while the wines were getting better, but it seems to have plateaued with a recurring selection of popular varietals and regions that have broad appeal for the American wine drinker.

Let's go into a bit of detail about the wine selection at WSJwines. Most of the wines, for which you will pay around $14 per bottle in the future, are of a fair value for the price.

The white wines tend to be one of three things: very bright (acidic), tasting of alcohol, or very plain. This makes them generally food-friendly.

The red wines tend to be medium bodied (even varieties that should be full-bodied), on the sweeter side (think Meiomi Pinot Noir, not dessert wine), and rarely taste like the varieties they are made of.

It's important to note that some of the Wall Street Journal's esteemed wine critic Lettie Teague3 does not have any hand in selecting the wine delivered via WSJwine.

Unboxing experience for WSJwine
WSJwine shipment of wine with cardboard separators

These were the wines available via WSJwine in the introductory shipment last time we checked. Please note, we can not be sure these are the wines you are going to receive. You will receive a similar assortment.

Red Wines
BONUS WINE: Massaro Del Fondo Appassimento, red wine from Italy

  1. The Black Stump Durif-Shiraz 2017, red wine from Australia
  2. Palacio del Conde Gran Reserva 2011, red wine from Spain
  3. Schroeder Estate Malbec 2011, red wine from Argentina (Patagonia)
  4. Corsiero Nero 2016, red wine from Italy (Puglia)
  5. A Tavola Cabernet Sauvignon 2016, red wine from California (Paso Robles)
  6. Stones & Bones 2015, red wine from Portugal
  7. Vitese Cabernet Sauvignon 2015, red wine from Italy (Sicily)
  8. Book of Shadows Zinfandel 2015, red wine from California (Lodi)
  9. Pirineos Cabernet Sauvignon 2013, red wine from Spain (Somontano)
  10. Saracosa Governo Rosso Toscano IGT 2016, red wine from Italy (Tuscany)
  11. Les Hauts de Gromel Bel Air 2015, red wine from France (Bordeaux)
  12. Château du Bel Air Cuvée Excellence 2016, red wine from France (Bordeaux)

White Wines
BONUS WINE: Massaro Del Fondo Appassimento, red wine from Italy

  1. Don Cayetano Chardonnay 2017, white wine from Chile
  2. Alma Andina Torrontés 2017, white wine from Argentina (Salta)
  3. Tikohi Sauvignon Blanc 2017, white wine from New Zealand (Marlborough)
  4. The Rustler Chenin Blanc 2017, white wine from South Africa
  5. Principe Strozzi Vernaccia di San Gimignano 2016, white wine from Italy (Tuscany)
  6. Lemon Hill Viognier 2016, white wine from California (Clarksburg)
  7. Elqui River Sauvignon Blanc 2016, white wine from Chile
  8. Paolo Valle Pinot Grigio 2016, white wine from Italy (Friuli)
  9. Le Champ des Étoiles Chardonnay 2017, white wine from France
  10. Saracosa Vermentino 2016, white wine from Italy (Tuscany)
  11. Podere Altero Bianco 2015, white wine from Italy (Tuscany)
  12. Barón de Barbón Albariño 2016, white wine from Spain (Rías Baixas)

WSJwine Membership Benefits

Box Inserts for WSJwine

Our WSJwine Membership Benefits Ratings


Satisfaction Guarantee
Discounts
Customer Service
Wine Education
Convenience

A top-notch Satisfaction Guarantee policy earns top ratings here. Anything wrong, including you just didn't like it, they'll refund the bottle.

"How does your money-back guarantee work?
It’s simple. We want you to enjoy every bottle you buy from us. If you are not completely satisfied with any wine, for any reason, just let us know and you’ll be refunded in full."

We look at three areas when evaluating the discount opportunities offered by a wine club. Is there an introductory offer to sweeten the deal? Are there discounts available for buying more of wines you loved in your shipments? Are there special discounts only available to members?

WSJwine Club has one of the top introductory offers available but does not offer discounts on reorders. You do get access to members-only deals at their wine store.

When it comes to convenience, WSJ has made great strides over the years. You can now manage your account online, including vacation holds, and you'll get shipping notifications with tracking numbers when the wine goes out for delivery. Note: You still need to call during business hours to cancel your membership.

Educational Wine Cards for WSJwine

WSJwine sends out glossy color cards with their wine club shipments. Each card contains detailed tasting notes about the wines, the wineries they come from, the winemakers, and the wine regions. They also include food pairing recipes and wine trivia in each issue.

WSJwine, does not have a good customer service record. Most of the complaints fall into two buckets. 1) People didn't understand they were signing up for an ongoing subscription when they ordered the introductory case for $69.99 — you are signing up for an ongoing membership and your credit card will automatically be charged on a quarterly basis until you cancel. 2) People did not cancel until AFTER they were told their next shipment has been prepared and billed, however the terms of service are quite clear regarding these issues:

"I will get a reminder before the above payment method is automatically charged – and will always have at least 10 days’ notice to skip, change or delay selections (online or by phone). I can also cancel my membership anytime by contacting customer service."

We chalk both of those sets of problems up to folks not reading the fine print or trying to get a too-good-to-be-true deal and ignoring the other details.

What we can't ignore though is the number of people who complain about delayed or missing shipments, as well as shipments that are prepared and billed after actual cancellations. We see far fewer of these complaints than we used to, but they still come in.

Who Should Join the WSJwine Club?

Despite their very appealing advertising touting a $69.99 case of wine, the WSJwine Club is not for everyone.

  • Here are some wines that people like that are similar to WSJwine in quality and taste: Barefoot Wines, Yellow Tail, and Apothic Wines. With WSJwine, you'll get a more International selection and a larger variety of grapes than you do buying each of these brands.
  • In wine clubs, as in the rest of life, you get what you pay for — if you don't normally buy wines at this price point, we don't think this is a good fit for you. You might want to try one of our other affordable wine clubs instead.

Is WSJwine a Good Wine Club Gift?

No, WSJwine does not make a good wine subscription gift. Primarily this is because there is no pre-paid subscription option, you can’t include a personalized gift message, and there isn’t any gift wrap in the first shipment. Here is a list of our favorite wine clubs for gifts.

Sources:

Jessyca Frederick
Wall Street Journal Wine

Things to know

Shipping cost: $19.99
Offers: 2
Best Deal: 14 Bottles + Glasses for $69.99
Exclusive Deal: No
  • Introductory Offer: Save $185 on 12 World Class Wines! First shipment contains two bonus bottles + two stemless crystal wine glasses for just $69.99. Future shipments are 12 bottles for $149.99+$19.99 shipping.

More wine clubs from Wall Street Journal Wine

Hey there! You are welcome to add your own feedback.
This comment feed is moderated—meaning we'll review and manually approve any comment before it gets posted to the website.
Please log in or create an account

Comment from Chris Niebergall at 2017-11-27 13:44:00
I just want to say that the whole experience of buying, tracking and receiving an order from WSJWINE has been appalling and customer service has been startlingly incompetent. E-mails from them do not match information gleaned from my calls to them. Will never use them again.

 

Comment from Camille Andrews at 2016-12-30 12:00:30
I would strongly recommend against subscribing to or ordering from this Company. I have tried three times to order from Company. First time, billed me three times and never shipped wine. This last time, promised shipment by Xmas to an important client and shipped only yesterday. Then, shipped to BILLING address not delivery address (despite Order properly showing proper delivery address). Customer service completely inept. Will put in dispute on card and order wine elsewhere. Reviews online are horrible for company. Please review online comments before wasting money.

 

Comment from David Elfring at 2016-12-22 13:48:08
wsjwine.com.
I will say that the wine that I receive in NJ is quite good. I have always been satisfied and have made a few reorders. My major issue with wsjwine.com is shipping addresses. Their systems or people can't get it right. I changed my address for billing and shipping on their website and called to confirm. They say everything is updated. A month later they ship. It went to the address that I had prior. I have the documentation via email of when and who I talked with and all I get is "sorry". I really think they have a management problem that has not recognized some issues either with C/S or systems to deal with distributors. Or maybe it is the distributors systems that don't get the information. What ever it is, wsjwine.com has created a problem for me!

If you have one address that you want to have the wine delivered to and you are in NJ I recommend the wine for the price. No need to go to a shop to pick something out.

 

Comment from Beena Vora at 2015-11-28 11:34:24
I got a promo code as a part of Christmas gift. So I tried to place order. I live in KY, so they could not ship to KY according to local laws. Hence I tried shipping it to IN, to my sister's house. IN was on their list. Well, I could not ship there either. Upon calling them I was told, it could not be shipped to IN at all. At the bottom of the link mentiones all the wine orders are accepted through Cap N Cork in Fort Wayne IN. I called them. The gentleman informed me that it is a home brewing company. He receives several calls like this. He has tried several times to get his business name removed without success. After reading some horror stories on this discussion panel, I am glad my order didn't go through. I agree with another writer, why would Wall Street Journal want to associate their name with this company.

 

Comment from Andrew Durket at 2014-08-26 15:30:18
I have had the quarterly service for 2 years and the only problem I had up until recently was that the quarterly shipment would ship within a 2 or 3 week period and one could never be quite certain until it actually shipped when they were coming in.

This all changed today. In May we moved and a shipment was accidentally shipped to the wrong address. I am willing to give everyone a break once. After this experience I went online and removed my old address from even being listed, so it didn't appear at all as far as I could see, and set the default address to my new address. After dealing with FEDEX to return wine to sender, for which I was reimbursed, support told me to fix it on the website, like so above. Well, last week the next quarterly shipment went to the old address AGAIN. I don't know how they did it, but they did. I called upset now because this is the second time. I got it taken care of and then sent an additional email just to hit home about my experience and how I was considering cancelling my subscription because of how poorly they had performed lately. They then canceled my account for me, which I wasn't sure about, but I am now, and told me, and I quote:

I have asked our carriers to make an attempt to intercept your delivery and return the case to us as soon as possible. Please note that there is no guarantee this will be successful.

So, if the wine is somehow not returned to sender, although THEY sent it to the wrong address, I am liable? By the way, what about their money back guarantee? Does that no longer apply to me because I am unhappy?

 

Comment from Bruce Mackey at 2014-04-05 06:09:59
Customer service is so incompetent as to be non-existent.

I received the "introductory offer" as a Christmas gift. I followed up after the first of the year and placed the order. I was told it would arrive within 12 days. It didn't. Called. Same story. Finally a guy called and said he would be there "Monday" so I stayed home to sign. He never arrived. Two days later, I called and cancelled, asking for the gift money instead. I was told a check would arrive in 7-10 days. It didn't. Nor did it arrive the next THREE more times I called. The last time, a manager had called, and asked for two weeks to get the check to arrive. It didn't. Now she hasn't returned my calls in 2 days. BUT, they sent an email to say they shipped the wine. I didn't ask for that! I don't want the wine. I've got such a bad taste in my mouth, their wine won't taste good so matter what! Reading these reviews, apparently I'm not the only one to have problems with these people. It's hard to understand why the Wall Street Journal would lend their good name to them. They must be getting lots of money from Direct Wines International, the outfit that actually runs the club.

 

Comment from Sonja Novotny at 2012-01-16 20:03:56
I agree with the previous feedback regarding WSJwine.com. They did not quote an excessive shipping fee prior to my order and I was shocked at the actual price. When I called to point out this mistake not only did they refuse to credit my account but they seemed not to care at all! This resulted in my cancelling of the membership and asking them to not contact me again via phone, mail or email. He actually had the gall to ask me if I had proof that the shipping fee was not quoted. They took advantage of my trust and most certainly have lost it.

 

Response from WineClubReviews at 2012-01-16 21:23:12
To help us watch out for others, please tell us how much was your shipping fee and which state were you shipping to?

 

Comment from Samantha Addonizio at 2010-12-29 13:01:14
WSJwine.com is UNRELIABLE...gifts do NOT arrive and TERRIBLE customer service on top of that. Do NOT order from WSJwine.com. I ordered on December 8 for a gift for friends that have been very good to me and very generous to our children. I ordered 2 bottles of champagne for delivery by Christmas. I was so very happy to have found this way to send them some good cheer. I received an order summary from WSJwine.com with the following information:

Thank you for ordering from WSJwine. In accordance with California state law, Lionstone Sonoma, a licensed California retailer, will accept, process, and ship your order for WSJwine. Thank you for being a valued customer. If you have any questions regarding your order, simply contact customer service by phone at (877) 975- 9463 or via email at [email protected]

I also received an order number and a timestamp that the order summary was received on December 8, 2010 at 3:49:48pm. Since the information in my order summary indicated that my order will be processed by a CA merchant, there seemed nothing more to be done.

On December 29, 2010, I finally got in touch with my good friend. As we exchanged well wishes, I asked them how they enjoyed their champagne. There was an awkward silence. My friend then said, what do you mean? I was SO embarassed. I asked if she received the gift I sent and she had not. I apologized, hurried off the phone and told her I would call her right back.

I call the number in my Order Summary email. I spoke with Sherry. Sherry told me that my order was cancelled. There was no indication why. She could only have a supervisor call me back in approximately 24 hours. I asked if WJS would re-place the order with a rush so delivery could be made by December 31, 2010 so my friends could enjoy for New Years at least. She said that they are not allowed by law to expdite alcohol orders. (I think that is flase since I have ordered items from other basket vendors that included beer or wine and there was an option to FedEx). She told me that nothiing more could be done. I asked to speak to a supervisor right away. After keeping me on hold for 10 minutes she came back on and told me that a supervisor could not speak with me now. I was so angry I told her I expected a call within 24 hours and I would pass along how WSJwine.com treated me.

 

Comment from Frank Huband at 2014-01-28 16:38:13
My experience with WSJWine has been horrific.

In June of 2013 I placed an order for 12 bottles of a 2003 wine for delivery in September, and paid a $40 ?holding fee? to assure that I would receive the order. In late November, I noticed I had not received the order, and talked to a WSJWine customer Services representative. She said she would check, and the next day sent me a message that said, in part:

?This is just a quick note to inform you that the presale Chateau Ramage La Batisse case will be ready to ship in early December. Your case will contain twelve bottles. Once the case has been prepared we will contact you for the balance of $199.88 plus $19.99 shipping and applicable tax.?

During late December and early January, I called several times to ask where the wine I had ordered was, and I was assured that it would be delivered soon.

In January, I received 6 bottles of a 2011 wine I had not ordered. When I called, I was told they had no idea why I had gotten it, but would send me a mailing label to return it.

Checking my credit card charges, I discovered that they had charged me almost $140 for the wine I had not ordered, and $480.93, more than twice the amount authorized, for the wine I had not been sent. And I have not gotten a return label for the wine I did not order.

Many more calls followed. Each time I called, I had to start the discussion from scratch. No references to my previous calls and concerns were kept in my customer file.

They now say they have no 12 case bottles of my wine, only 6 bottle cases. When I suggest that they could just send 2 6 bottle cases, they said that they would not do that. I told them to cancel the order.

I still have not gotten the fedex label, and both charges are still on my credit card.

So the message is, if things go wrong, even if it is totally their fault, you will not get either sympathy or compensation from WSJWine.

Buyer beware.

And I have called Amex, told them my story and asked them to reverse the charges.

Frank Huband

 

Comment from Rebecca Huff at 2014-12-10 10:33:29
WSJwine from the wall street journal will take hundreds of dollars out of your account every month and no matter how many times you call or email customer service, the automatic drafts from your checking account will not stop. You can speak to a representative or a supervisor and it will not matter. You call on Monday and they will tell you it is cancelled, call back on Tuesday and they say it was never cancelled and they will cancel it and they refuse to cancel your order. I have been dealing with this for 12 months. I went 6 months not having money in my checking account to avoid the auto drafts while I called and emailed, with no success. I cancelled my credit/debit card number and I don't understand how they could have continued to draft my account. I had the bank make a stop payment to discontinue this order. The orders are going to my old address while they are drafting my account. They still refuse to cancel the order. It hadn't even gone through yet after I called the people at my old address told me it arrived anyway 10 days later, plenty of time for them to cancel the order, they just refuse to do so. Do not purchase wine from them unless you are prepared to change all of your account information to quit their "club".

 

Comment from Beena Vora at 2015-11-28 11:39:17
I got a promo code as a part of Christmas gift. So I tried to place order. I live in KY, so they could not ship to KY according to local laws. Hence I tried shipping it to IN, to my sister's house. IN was on their list. Well, I could not ship there either. Upon calling them I was told, it could not be shipped to IN at all. At the bottom of the link mentiones all the wine orders are accepted through Cap N Cork in Fort Wayne IN. I called them. The gentleman informed me that it is a home brewing company. He receives several calls like this. He has tried several times to get his business name removed without success. After reading some horror stories on this discussion panel, I am glad my order didn't go through. I agree with another writer, why would Wall Street Journal want to associate their name with this company.

 

Comment from Mary Grace Weir at 2015-12-20 14:18:58
Hey there! ????Thanks for screwing us over!! ????We ordered the INTRO case from the American Express promotion FOUR WEEKS AGO! You took our GREAT PRICE payment and then we got NOTHING! When we try to call and find out where our case of wine is, NO ONE KNOWS OR GIVES A CRAP! ???? Your customer service people THREE of them, said they would find out and call us back. And then left us alone waiting for call backs that never came. The CS supervisor was not only NAMELESS (he would not give us his last name) , he was also clueless as well as was uncaing and un willing to lift a finger to find out where our case is after FOUR WEEKS! It is not really a customer service dept, but just a facade...so people THINK they are going to be served, but really all they get is screwed! I really hope that you will post this so that other people wont get ripped off like we did! Do you have any common sense? Then this should horrify you that you work for such a scam company!

 

Comment from Mary Grace Weir at 2015-12-21 09:27:00

Hi I want everyone to hear our bad experience with WSJ Wine Club. We ordered the INTRO case from an American Express promotion FOUR WEEKS AGO! We were hoping to have the case for Christmas. But, they took our GREAT PRICE payment and then we got NOTHING, except an emailed shipping ticket, that had a bogus shipping number that Fed Ex did not recognize. When we try to call and find out where our case of wine is, NO ONE KNOWS OR GIVES A CRAP! The customer service people THREE of them, said they would find out and call us back. And then left us alone waiting for call backs that never came. Then, the CS "supervisor" was not only NAMELESS (he would not give us his last name) , he was also clueless as well as was uncaring and un willing to lift a finger to find out where our case is after FOUR WEEKS! When this happened, we knew we had been scammed. It is not really a customer service dept, but just a facade...so people THINK they are going to be served, but really all they get is screwed! I really hope that you will post this so that other people wont get ripped off like we did! Do NOT give this "club" any of your hard earned money!

 

Response from WineClubReviews at 2015-12-21 11:44:24
A quick editor's note: We don't have any relationship with the American Express promotion, and sometimes when a third-party is involved the customer service gets wonky. If you sign up directly through us at WineClubReviews.net, you eliminate one potential hurdle with these promotions.

 

Comment from Mary Grace Weir at 2015-12-21 14:24:27
Not sure about the problem being because of a third party. We were in contact with the club directly and if they have this attitude with us then it will happen to others. WSJ wine club's CS is the worse ever and that's a big part of the whole picture. as someone said below "buyer beware!"

 

Comment from C R at 2016-02-12 19:17:29
I do not recommend this club.
First, the quality of their wine is far from great. They promote average wines. Their ratings is totally wrong.
Second, their customer service is incompetent. I tried to return a package that was ordered by mistake and their don't even understand how FedEx works. On the phone, their told me to drop the package at the fedex location. but then, when i got there FedEx did not want to take the package back. I called WSJWine and there were not aware of this. Such a waste of time.

 

All-Around Wine Club Rating:

At WineClubReviews.net we take an objective approach to our star ratings system. Our written reviews are very much subjective, based on our 9+ years of wine club review experience and our own ideas about what good wine and good value mean. The star ratings are based on 11 attributes that we feel define what a wine club should be. Here is how Firstleaf Wine Club stacks up on these traits.

Ratings by Wine Club Trait

Ratings by Wine Club Buyer

WSJwine Wine Club